## **Minutes**

## Dental Senate Meeting March 5, 2019

## 11:30 am – 12:15 pm Dental Dean's Conference Room, AG012

Present: Drs. E. Reichenberger (chair), J. Agar, H.L. Aguila, M. Brown, I. Chen, J. Cotney, J. Duncan, A. Gopalakrishna, L. Kuhn, T. Liang, R. Manley, E. Natarajan, F. Nichols, J. Piecuch, E. Ress, T. Schmidt, A. Schuyler, Y. Wang, and Q. Zhu

Excused: Drs. S. Antic, E. Dutra, P. Epstein, R. Kelly, L. Song, R. Stevens, and J. Wagner

Meeting was called to order at 11:32 am.

Approval of last Dental Senate meeting minutes

The minutes from the Dental Senate meeting that took place on January 8, 2018 were approved as submitted.

New Members of the Dental Senate

The Dental Senate now has student and resident representation. Please welcome third year Dental student Eric Ress and third year AEGD resident Raquel Manley.

Discuss Proposed Changes to Dental Senate Bylaws

The bylaws of the dental school are tied in with the bylaws of the Dental Senate. Drs. Duncan, Kuhn, Nichols and Reichenberger reviewed the current bylaws prior to this meeting and suggested a number of minor and major revisions.

Major changes that need to be worked out are, for example, in the Constitution of the Dental Senate, Article 3 – Membership needs to be worded in a more general way to allow for future changes in department or division structure.

Current: The Senate shall consist of fifteen elected Senators from the full- and part-time SDM clinical faculty, seven elected Senators from the full-time basic science faculty and one elected Senator from the predoctoral dental student body, and one elected Senator from the postdoctoral dental student body.

The proposal for future membership selection for the Dental Senate is to use the word "selected" instead of "elected" as it has been difficult (and may be unnecessary) to have elections for each change of Senate member.

A discussion took place regarding the definition of "Voting Faculty." Further discussion is needed to unify the definition so we can continue to re-examine the bylaws.

Jennifer Lindquist will obtain a list of the basic sciences faculty for both the medical and dental school.

We will bring additional changes/suggestions back to the next meeting for further discussion.

The meeting adjourned at 12:21 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Ernst Reichenberger, PhD Chair, Dental Senate