Minutes

Dental Senate Meeting November 6, 2018

11:30 am – 12:15 pm Classroom B10

Present: Drs. E. Reichenberger (chair), J. Agar, M. Brown, J. Cotney, J. Duncan, P. Epstein, R. Kelly, F. Nichols, T. Schmidt, A. Schuyler, R. Stevens, and Q.Zhu

Excused: Drs. S. Antic, I. Chen, A. Lichtler, J. Wagner, and Y. Wang

Absent: Drs. H.L. Aguila, E. Dutra, A. Gopalakrishna, L. Kuhn, T. Liang, E. Natarajan, J. Piecuch, and L. Song

Meeting was called to order at 11:32 am.

Introductions and Approval of Meeting Minutes

Dr. Reichenberger invited the members of the Dental Senate to introduce themselves.

The minutes of the Dental Senate meeting on October 16, 2018 were reviewed and approved with minor revisions.

Vote for Vice-Chairperson; the Vice Chair is elected for a term of 1 year and can be re-elected for a second term.

Dr. Frank Nichols was elected the Vice-Chairperson of the Dental Senate by email vote. Congratulations to Dr. Nichols!

Biomedical Engineering is new Department represented in Dental Senate.

Dr. Liisa Kuhn is the representative of the Biomedical Engineering Department and Dr. Tannin Schmidt is the alternate Senator.

The bylaws indicate that the Dental Senate consists of three departments. Now that we have four departments, the bylaws will need to be revised. There are other areas of the bylaws that need review and potential revision. Changes to the bylaws must be reviewed by the Board of Directors.

Discussion of role of Dental Senate / Steering Committee / Research, Education and Academic Environment Councils

The Dental Senate is the official communication channel to administration. The charge of senate members is to communicate what is going on in dental school with members of

their division and department. If issues or questions come up, they can be brought to the Dental Senate. It is important to keep faculty informed and to avoid miscommunication.

We do not have a student representative, but we are in the process of voting and will have one very soon.

Page five of the bylaws says that new members of the Dental Senate should receive a "welcome package" which indicates expectation of duties and provides other important information. It was suggested that a one-page document be provided to new members to share this information as well as the committee rosters. It was noted that the Dental Senate and the three councils now have dedicated websites with bylaws and membership rosters posted.

Updates on Research Council. Discuss charge for the committee.

A representative from Behavioral Sciences still needs to be identified. The members of the Research Council are as follows:

- Dr. Robert Kelly, Prosthodontics, Reconstructive Sciences
- Dr. I-Ping Chen, Center for Regenerative Medicine and Skeletal Development, Reconstructive Sciences
- Dr. Sumit Yadav, Orthodontics, Craniofacial Sciences
- Dr. Tannin Schmidt, Biomedical Engineering
- Dr. Frank Nichols, Periodontology, Oral Health and Diagnostic Sciences
- Dr. Stefan Brocke, Immunology
- Dr. Marc Hansen, Center for Molecular Oncology
- Dr. Raj Lalla, Associate Dean for Research, School of Dental Medicine (non-voting)
- Dr. Tony Vella, Associate Dean for Research, School of Medicine (non-voting)

Some possible charges for the Research Council include resource sharing and identifying inventory (i.e. what equipment does the School of Dental Medicine have?). Another item is joining forces to get grants. Continually reassessing the research agenda of the School is something that we will need to do for the upcoming accreditation visit and is another area of focus for the Research Council.

Dr. Reichenberger and Dr. Gordon met yesterday and discussed some other initiatives for the Research Council. Two items Dr. Gordon recommended are research training and career development and recommending students for awards for summer research activities.

Another charge for the Research Council is grant management. In some departments when a grant is awarded, the administrative work of monitoring the funds is taken off the researcher. This does not happen in all departments and in that case, the onus is on the researcher to monitor their funds.

The School of Dental Medicine uses a grant writing company through UConn Storrs, but it is not guaranteed that a grant can get reviewed. It should be investigated whether Christopher (Kit) Bonin from the School of Medicine can assist our faculty with grant writing.

It would also be helpful to hear from Dr. Lalla to give updates to the council about grant initiatives.

Updates on Academic Environment Council. Discuss charge for the committee

The members of the Academic Environment Council are as follows:

- Dr. Ajay Dhingra, Prosthodontics, Reconstructive Sciences
- Dr. Namita Khandelwal, Periodontology, Oral Health and Diagnostic Sciences
- Dr. Kshitiz Gupta, Biomedical Engineering
- Dr. Barbara Kream, Medicine
- Dr. Howard Tennen, Community Medicine and Health

A possible charge for the Academic Environment is industry relationships and avoiding conflicts of interest in research. The Dean has shown great interest in this. Our philosophy is that it is healthy to have industry relationships, but it needs to be transparent.

Dr. Schmidt shared that he had an opportunity to get industry money for a project and noted that it was challenging to figure out the process. Simplifying the process and getting everyone on the same page could be another charge of the Academic Environment Council.

Dr. Kelly can present at the next Senate meeting on Industry-sponsored research, discussing advantages, caveats and rules that the School of Dental Medicine and UConn have in place.

UConn Health is embarking on a private public partnership. How this will impact the School of Dental Medicine is another topic.

Miscellaneous items.

We will have a steering committee meeting in two weeks.

The meeting adjourned at 12:15 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Ernst Reichenberger, PhD Chair, Dental Senate